::Hondas Wanted::

Go Back   HSTuners > Honda / Acura Cars > Civic/Del Sol
User Name
Password
FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 09-15-2004, 04:12 PM   #1
pimpdaddypatca

1.5 to 1.6si swap

So im new to the honda world. im just wondering right now i have a 1.5 sohc non vtec motor... im wondering if i can put a 1.6 si sohc non vtec in my car and if so will it bolt up to the existing motor mounts and plug into everything else. or do i have to mod anything... i can pick one up with only 10 thousand kms on it for 300 bucks so im jus wonderin....
help me
Old 09-15-2004, 04:53 PM   #2
JDMFantasy2k

first of all, welcome to HST

second of all, what are you looking for basically? are you just looking for a new motor because yours sucks, or for just a little more performance?

Basically if you have a d15, then swapping to a d16 should be cake. (hence the motors are the same series so the mounting locations and everything else are the same) Couple things you need to watch for though:

1. what obd is the engine. basically obd (on board diagnostics) is the generation of your wiring and ecu on your engine. (from OBD0, OBD1, and OBD2)

here's a good reference...
http://www.hondaswap.com/forums/inde...howtopic=29825

try to keep the same OBD, otherwise it's going to be a lot more complicated.

2.vtec. you said your engine now isn't equipped with vtec. If you're gonna ge a new engine that has vtec it'll have to be wired in. I'm not sure how to do it, but i know there's some tech articles that say how to do it.

but quite simply, anything can be done to hondas, (remember there are engine mount kits) it all just depends on what you're looking to accomplish, and how much cash you have
Old 09-15-2004, 05:00 PM   #3
pimpdaddypatca

my motor sucks the vavles are goin so ive been told and for parts and labour i figure swapin the motor would be more fun for me haha did it in a previous car before.. i sent you a pm with more details.....