::Hondas Wanted::

Go Back   HSTuners > Tech Talk > High Performance
User Name
Password
FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 07-31-2002, 09:20 AM   #1
XdiscontensionX

low end?

newbie here - just bought '99 accord and put a CAI on it, should be getting my cat-back within the next month or so.

is there anything i can do to give my car a boost at low rpm's, or is this something i just have to deal with? as is, my car has very little power when i'm coming out of a dead stop. i've heard that pulleys or flywheel would fix it?

also, i've noticed a whistle (imagine a footbal referee) when i gun it at lower rpm's - a friend said it was b/c of the intake. is this normal or is there anything i should try to fix it?
Old 07-31-2002, 09:37 AM   #2
ebpda9
Repost Wagon

yeah the whistle is perfectly normal with an intake, because you do not have the resonator anymore. for the low end i don't know what to tell you other than to advance the ignition a bit. Maybe some headers will help you a bit. Anyway you have the slowest engine in thoise types of car: f22a4 which is a non-vtec engine. the vtec version have 150hp while you have only 135.

ebpda9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2002, 10:02 AM   #3
XdiscontensionX

i know about the HP issue ... it was a tough decision - i really wanted the vtec or the v6 but the price and mileage on the DX was too good to pass up. i also figured that i could learn on the "crappy" engine and then swap out for a better one somewhere down the road. thx for the help!
Old 07-31-2002, 10:19 AM   #4
spoogenet

Haha, now that's the spirit! Run this engine to the ground and swap for more power.

Funny all the whistles that people complain about. I get a nice hum from mine, sounds kinda like hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm at a slightly higher pitch than the average Joe would say it, but no whistle. Or maybe it's an oooooooooooooooo. I dunno, but maybe I just got lucky with the whistle?