::Hondas Wanted::

Go Back   HSTuners > Tech Talk > High Performance
User Name
Password
FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 01-25-2002, 06:16 PM   #1
gojigen

Japanese Type R help

Ok guys/girls here is the scoop. I live in Osaka Japan and I just bought a 98 Integra type R. The engine mods I have is a Mugen header, 5Zigen race exhaust, Mines computer, AEM cold air intake and an APEXi VAFC. I just got my NOS kit in last week and installed it. I haven’t tested out yet because I don’t want to f#ck anything up. Is there anything I should do as far and tweaks or tuning before I run the NOS? It is only a 60 HP boost and the guy at NOS told me not to worry. Well, I don’t know what to expect cause it is my first time using NOS. I am looking to get a supercharger from Jackson soon and I know I have to retard ignition by 3 degrees. Does anyone have any suggestions on what else I should consider or do?

PS. My mines computer is set only to cut the speed limiter. In Japan, all cars including GT-Rs, RX-7...everything....is limited to 180Kmh (111 Mph) unless you buy a computer to cut the limiter. Everything else is the same.

PSS. Does anyone know a really good setting for the VAFC?

Thanks people...

Gojigen
Old 01-25-2002, 06:53 PM   #2
Rocket

Saftey Tips

Engine Prep

1)Thicker oil 10w40. All the extra fuel tends to dilute oil on the cylinders.

2)Colder spark plugs. More power requires colder plugs. Reduce gap on plugs to 0.8mm if you don't have MSD.

3)Retard ignition timing 3 to 4 degrees back from stock. You can tune more timing in later.

4)Run fuel injection cleaner to make sure the injectors are running super clean.

Driver Prep

1)Only nitrous in 1st and 2nd. 3rd, 4th, etc gears are really hard on the motor so avoid nitrousing in these gears when you first start experimenting.

2) Do not miss shift and hit the rev limiter. Fuel cut off is the kiss of death with nitrous.

3) Make sure the motor is fully warmed up. Cold motors can't handle the extra fuel.