::Hondas Wanted::

Go Back   HSTuners > Honda / Acura Cars > Civic/Del Sol
User Name
Password
FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 04-09-2002, 10:15 PM   #1
gatorinkansas

Newbie needs info chosing motor for my 92

well i am very new to these cars, but i just picked up a 92 hatchback with the 1.5L for cheap. it should work well for a daily driver. i dont know much about anything. what do i want to do? i have NO plans to race it. just good transportation. should i get one of those Japan imported used motors? should i swap a different motor? i want to keep the stock 5 speed in it. what should i do?

i feel uncomfortable about buying a used motor. they say about 500-600 for a motor that has been "tested" and warranted for 3 months. are these a waste? i would like some good milage with it.

thanks for helping out a newbie. i hope to stay here for a while!
Old 04-10-2002, 12:08 PM   #2
Integra221

I really don't understand what you are trying to do why would you want a new motor if you don't want to go fast? Your 1.5L is fine for transportation.
Old 04-10-2002, 01:19 PM   #3
KwikR6
Mind Blowing

Yeah if don't plan on going fast then don't bother changing the motor...but if you want to do some racing then go with a b16 or b18 sure sure they are typical swaps...but they are typical for a reason. They are good in the civic...and good on gas...and they will get ya to work pretty fast.

The epitome of stupidity is expressed so fluidly with the shity lyric theory you try to spit at me.

I CAN'T WAIT FOR SUMMER!!!
KwikR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2002, 04:04 PM   #4
slowEJ6

you want good transportation, keep it stock, put in a K&N drop in air filter for a TINY bit better performance and gas mileage and call it a day.
slowEJ6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2002, 06:46 PM   #5
gatorinkansas