.:HSTuners::

::Hondas Wanted::

Go Back   HSTuners > Tech Talk > My Car is Broken!
User Name
Password
FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 01-21-2004, 11:41 AM   #1
Dundaroo

Noise From Engine

I have a 98 honda civic LX (157k miles) and I have had a noise coming from the engine. It only happens when I press the gas for the first time or when I am sitting at a stoplight. The sound tends to go away after pressing the gas for a couple of seconds when accelerating. It sounds like a knocking sound that speeds up or slows down when I press the gas. Can anyone shed some light on what this might be?

I'm a newbie at working on cars and trying to find out as much as I can.

Old 01-21-2004, 12:50 PM   #2
blind34_1

try to describe this sound. is it squeak, squeel, clunk, thump, grind, scrape, etc?

What work have you had done recently? are you good with maintenance?
blind34_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2004, 01:24 PM   #3
Dundaroo

Noise From Engine

I'm not too advanced at car maintenance, but I have had the oil changed and have had a tune up done.

I don't know if this had anything to do with it, but my CEL came on a little bit after the noise started. But the noise is almost like a knocking sound that only occurs when starting or accelerating for about 1/2 a mile.
Old 01-22-2004, 10:33 AM   #4
4drmadness

if you got a CEL light when it happened and you still have it the answer would be to have it hooked up to a computer and it will give you teh code to pinpoint it...Or should help Just my $.02
Old 01-22-2004, 11:50 AM   #5
blind34_1

yeah, he's right. Go somewhere that has cheap OBD2 diagnostic checking, and have them tell you what it was/is.