::Hondas Wanted::

Go Back   HSTuners > Honda / Acura Cars > Civic/Del Sol
User Name
Password
FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 10-25-2003, 12:17 AM   #1
CrazyFirstGen

New to civics

Hey everyone. Well, im am a complete newbie to the Civic scene. My first car was a 1982 civic 4 door hatchback and i now have baughten a similar car. I am just finishing my 1984 RX7 with a V8 conversion and now i want to do a swap(honda engine of course) into my lil 82'. Now i was thinking like maybe a prelude engine out of a 93+...what are your thoughts?
Keep in mind, until today, i didnt even know that there were so many different model engines out there. B16a2, d16...blah blah blah. I need this engine to swap into my little car fairly easy. I dont want to hack it up and put like 10k into it. I just want that old tired carbed engine out of there and some new tech in its place.
So, what engines would make for the easier swap? can i put a 93+ prelude engine in there? I had a friend with a prelude that was putting out like 225hp with very minor mods. that would make one quick camaro eater out of my little 82.

Anyway, Take care guys.
Tom
Old 10-25-2003, 12:26 AM   #2
cashizslick

Re: New to civics

Well, i think a prelude motor might be a little much for your car, since it is real heavy and the 82 civic (or any civic) is not properly designed in the front end to handle a prelude motor - i.e. to heavy.

The easiest swaps to find are B series honda motors. B18A and B18B come from Integra ls/rs/gs modles, and have 140 hp and are non-vtec motors - all the rest of the ones im bout to list are VTEC motors. The B16A comes from a honda civic Del Sol VTEC and has 160 horsepower - this same motor can also be found in the 99-00 Civic SI (or overseas like mine). The B18C1 comes from an integra GSR, and has 170 horsepower. The B18C5 is the pride and joy of all honda motors, it is a built version of the B18C1 straight from the factory and has 195 horsepower.