.:HSTuners::

::Hondas Wanted::

Go Back   HSTuners > Tech Talk > High Performance > Turbo
User Name
Password
FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 01-22-2004, 08:02 PM   #1
Midnight02

Hey guys, I dont want to sound like a complete idiot but i am new at this stuff, I really want to start saving for a turbo for my civic ex... I only plan on pushing 10 lbs of boost and i am going to vent to the atmosphere so it will basically be for show and sound, i dont plan on taking it to the tracks, i just want to know and let other people know that i have a mean car. but i dont know anything about turbos and i dont know much about prices... any ideas on what i should look for and where i should get it so i know what i have to save for and how much i have to save. thanks a lot.
Old 01-22-2004, 09:20 PM   #2
4drmadness

well midnight I would suggest going to some of the link I will put below. you can learn some from peeps here n the board but it;s good to do some research and then what you might not understand ask about further.
www.homemadeturbo.com
http://www.beesandgoats.com/boostfaq/g2icturbo.html
Hope these couple links might get you started..homemade has some good info from when the guy did his first turbo and what he learned to his current projects...
Good luck and happy boosting...
Old 01-22-2004, 09:28 PM   #3
Midnight02

I asked this in a different thread already but what kind of engine do I have? and is it a sohc or a dohc
Old 01-22-2004, 09:34 PM   #4
sohc_vtec 2NR

EX = sohc vtec
Old 01-22-2004, 09:42 PM   #5
4drmadness

well what yr and model civic do you have? when you pop the hood does the valve cover have an insert that covers the plug wires down the middle and wide or narrow and just rolled over w/ the 4 plug wires right there on top exposed?