::Hondas Wanted::

Go Back   HSTuners > Honda / Acura Cars > Civic/Del Sol
User Name
Password
FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 07-27-2002, 10:31 PM   #1
98CivicDude

Whats the cam gear all about

I've ordered a CAM gear from AEM and it should be here soon but I'm not quite sure on what to do with it...I purchased it because the gears I have now are disgusting and my car is all show and some go...but could somebody please explan to me what a cam gear does and how i should "tune" or "retard" it to meet with my engine ? Thanks guys. Also are under drive pulleys a waste of money on a civic ?
Old 07-29-2002, 04:23 PM   #2
ebpda9
Repost Wagon

beats, me dude how you are gonna tune them, but i've heard that it takes hours on the dyno to get the best out of them. Don't use somebody else's settings. as for the pulley i have no first hand experience with them but i've heard they are good but do not offer noticeable gains. also saty away from Unortodox racing ones. they tend to unbalance the engine which will cause damage in the long run

ebpda9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2002, 06:00 PM   #3
AzCivic

The instructions that come with the cam gear give you a way to tune them. Have you thought of how you're going to put it in? Cause in less you're real good at mechanical stuff under the hood you are probably going to want to wait until you replace your timing belt which will cost about $300 or you could replace it early.
As far as underdrive pulleys, you probably don't want them if you plan on or have a sound system, cause it'll start to drain the battery. Whatever you do don't go to Midas to have the work done!!! Hope this helps.
AzCivic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2002, 12:04 PM   #4
ShEaNy