PDA

View Full Version : stressin over the auto..

SexyTeg
02-02-2002, 01:31 AM
well i've had my 96 integra se auto for about a month now and i'm really getting frustrated that its an auto .. now people on other boards have suggested (quite rudely I might add) that I should just sell the car and buy a manual..
Here's the dilemma though ..firstly, I've driven auto's for 3 years and I have never driven a manual before. I'm a very busy college student and I just don't think i can make time to learn how to drive stick, sell the car, and go looking for a another car.. also I like the auto as a daily driver but I really hate the fact that I can't have much fun with it and it drives me crazy knowing that my slushbox is eating up power :mad: I ran with my friends 5speed 2001 civic ex w/ only CAI from 0-60 and he beat me by about a half carlength.. sooo dissapointed.. Another thing is that it was my first time purchasing a car and I had a bad experience buying the car from a really rude dealership. I'm sort of reluctant to get into all of that again.
I was planning to mod the car lightly with the basic i/h/e and some suspension mods, but I'm wondering if it may not be worth the effort or the money..
Anyone else in a similar situation? Need some good advice and/or encouragement .. :|
Thanks for listening.

2ndGenTeg
02-02-2002, 03:30 AM
The problem with the slushbox isn't that it eats up power, it's that the gear ratios are longer. As for losing to the EX, chalk it up to the fact that he's got shorter gear ratios and a lighter car. Don't get disheartened.

You've reached what I call "The Great Crossroads" in building up a car, and early on. You need to come to the realization that the car will never be fast without a major investment. Bolt ons may supply a little additional torque, but you'll never get the power you're looking for out of them. So you have to choose: Major investment in modification, major investment in another car, or live with what you got.